Outstanding Educators

The **Outstanding Educator Award** is distinct from the others and is distinct to our chapter. It celebrates the achievements and accomplishments of an individual (or project) who has had a profound, positive impact on public education 002E

In 1983 John Carrick, Bob Cook, John Carrick, Henry Jackman and Merle Wahlstrom struck a committee to honour noteworthy contributions to education in Ontario.

John Carrick, generously provided the initial funding of the \$500.00 that accompanies the award. This money is donated to a charitable cause of the recipient's choice. These outstanding educator recipients are found among the best and most accomplished intellectually creative thinkers in Ontario. Their keynote addresses have been inspirational and challenge us to improve the quality of education for all students.

The awards are presented at our Annual General Meeting held at the beautifully appointed University of Toronto, Faculty Club.

1983 Edmund Nelligan

1984 Doug Long

1985 Sgt. J.T. Healey

1986 Dr. W. J. Lambie

1987 Dr. Charles Galloway

1988 Bill Jones

1989 Grenada Project

1990 Dr. Pat Kincaid

1991 Veronica Lacey

1992 Don Rutledge, Marg Evans, Sylvia Larter

1993 Burle Summers

1994 Kenneth Leithwood

1995 Dr. Avis Glaze

1996 Dr. Dale Shuttleworth

1997 Noreen Hardwick-LeClerc

1998 Gordon Penrose (Dr Zed)

1999 Dr Peter Ross

2000 Fiona Nelson

2001 Dr Debra Peplar

2002 William Hogarth

2003 Zoe Donoahue

2004 Lieutenant-Governor hon, James K. Bartleman

2005 Heather-jane Robertson

2006 Lorna Earl

2007 Barrie Bennett

2008 Clay LaFleur

2009 Chris Spence

2010 Ben Levin

2011 David Booth

2012 Steve Paiken

2013 Mary JeanGallagher